What to Know About California’s Head-Turning Gun Control Law

By one measure, Californians are about 25 percent less likely to die in mass shootings compared with residents of other states.

Our state’s low rate of gun deaths is at least in part because of our strict firearm laws, experts say.

But after a number of devastating shootings across the U.S. this year, California is now tightening those gun rules even more.

This month alone, Gov. Gavin Newsom has signed into law more than 10 new firearm restrictions.

These include fresh limits on gun advertising to minors; increased inspections of dealers

and a 10-year ban on firearm possession for those convicted of child abuse or elder abuse.

The most high-profile of these laws allows Californians to sue anyone who distributes banned assault weapons or ghost guns.

Senate Bill 1327 allows Californians to sue anyone who distributes illegal assault weapons, parts that can be used to build weapons, guns without serial numbers or .50-caliber rifles.

The law also allows people to pursue legal challenges against licensed firearms dealers who sell weapons to anyone under 21.

Under the law, awards of at least $10,000 per weapon and legal fees will be awarded to plaintiffs who successfully sue.

The law is set to take effect in January. But it includes a legal trigger that would automatically invalidate it if the courts strike down the Texas law.